Reports & Plans

Down East HOME Consortium

The Down East Home Consortium (DEHC) consists of ten jurisdictions within Nash and Edgecombe Counties, North Carolina. The association into a consortium was formalized in late 1996 in order to become an eligible recipient of HOME funds. The DEHC addresses housing, homeless and non-housing community development needs for the City of Rocky Mount and only housing, homeless and related human service needs for the rest of the Consortium. The process involves an intensive collaborative effort between Rocky Mount and representatives of each member jurisdiction through a Consortium Steering Committee.

The Down East HOME Consortium consists of: Bailey, Conetoe, Dortches, Edgecombe County, Nash County, Nashville, Pinetops, Princeville, Sharpsburg, Spring Hope, Tarboro, Rocky Mount, Middlesex and Whitakers.

Consolidated Plan

In late 1996, ten local communities in Nash and Edgecombe counties in eastern North Carolina, formed the Down East HOME Consortium (DEHC). With the City of Rocky Mount, already a Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Entitlement City, as the Lead Entity, the Consortium began receiving Home Investment Partnership Program funds (HOME) in 1997.

Edgecombe and Nash Counties' membership in the DEHC does not include the governments of the municipalities in both Counties who chose not to join the Consortium.

Rocky Mount, the lead entity in the DEHC is also the largest member jurisdiction of the Consortium with a 2000 Census population of 55,893. Rocky Mount, Sharpsburg and Whitakers are "bi-county" jurisdictions, i.e., extending into both Nash and Edgecombe Counties. These two counties, often referred to as the "Twin County" area, have a long and somewhat unique history of cooperative alliances and joint planning in Eastern North Carolina. In the early 1990s, after several years of intense analysis, joint planning meetings and shared staff efforts, these counties developed a joint Strategic Plan called "Vision 2000". This Plan was the result of the Nash-Edgecombe-Rocky Mount Strategic Planning project, and was produced by the "Vision 2000" Steering Committee, a cross-sectioned group of 30 citizens from the two-county area.

Fair Housing Act

The Fair Housing Act protects citizens from being discriminated during the following processes: "Sale and Rental of Housing" Mortgage Lending "Advertising" Housing Opportunities for Families

The City's Fair Housing program undergoes analysis regularly. This process is used to evaluate the program in order to detect areas that may need improvement along with suggestive steps to be taken. City staff implements the suggestions in order to ensure that the citizens of Rocky Mount receive the best Fair Housing assistance available.

The City of Rocky Mount's Fair Housing Act is an extension of the federal Fair Housing Act, which was originally enacted in 1968, and the Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988. Fair Housing is defined as the ability of persons regardless of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin of similar income levels to have available to them the same housing choices.

The above categories of persons or families may be regarded as "protected classes," as far as discrimination in housing is concerned. The provisions of the Fair Housing Act cover most housing. In some circumstances, the Act exempts the following: owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units; single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker; and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members. The Fair Housing Act also contains specific instructions on certain practices and actions that are clearly prohibited, especially related to the sale or rental of housing, and mortgage lending.

Continuum of Care

The Continuum of Care system that serves Nash and Edgecombe Counties in eastern North Carolina is lead by the Twin County Housing Initiative (TCHI). The TCHI Executive Board meets monthly with additional Board or committee meetings as needed. TCHI Board has four permanent committees: Technical Assistance, Advocacy, Affordable Housing/Affordable Rentals, and Foundation Research. TCHI is responsible for preparation of the Continuum of Care document for Nash and Edgecombe Counties.